General Information

TOWN CLERK’S OFFICE – Open weekdays from 9 am until Noon, and from 7 pm until 8 pm at Selectmen’s meetings.

Town Clerk: Katherine Westcom

Treasurer: Vera Lawyer

Asst. Clerk-Treasurer: Audrey Haselton

SELECTMEN  Meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month at the Town Hall at 7 pm.

Chairman: Brian Westcom

Lance Lawyer, David Ovitt

PLANNING COMMISSION – Meetings are held on the first Monday of each month at the Town Hall at 7 pm.

Co-Chairmen: Ken Carter and Bill Irwin

ZONING ADMINISTRATOR Office hours are Wednesday 9 am to Noon.

Darlene Marrier

ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT Meetings are held the third Wednesday of the month as needed at the Town Hall at 7 pm.

SCHOOL BOARD – Meetings are held the third Monday of the month at 6 pm. There is no meeting in July. The School District Annual Meeting and Budget Informational Meeting are held on the night before Town Meeting.

Chairman: Tennyson Doane

FIRE DEPARTMENT – Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month at the Fire Station at 7 pm.

Fire Chief: Marc Robert

1st Assistant: Matt Hull

2nd Assistant: 

FIRE DISTRICT #1 (VILLAGE WATER DEPARTMENT)Village Meeting is held on the second Monday in January of each year.  Other meetings held as warned.

Chief Engineer: William Newett

Prudential Committee: Alan Lawyer, William Newett, Craig Paquette

LIBRARY – Meetings are held on the first Monday of each month at the Library at 7 pm. Library hours are Monday, 2 pm to 7 pm; Wednesday, 2 pm to 6 pm; Thursday, 9 am to Noon and 3pm to 8pm; Saturday, 9 am to 1 pm. Storytime is Saturday at 11 am.

Librarian:  Cheryll DeRue

Assistant: Mary Schwartz


CONSERVATION COMMISSION – Meetings are held on the last Monday of each month at the Town Hall at 1 pm.

Chair: Dorothy Allard

Vice Chair: Alice Foote

Treasurer: Carolyn Bronz

Secretary: Sue Tillotson

Eric Jessiman, Larry Krygier, Pat Evans


Bakersfield-Fairfield Mealsite: Community Center in East Fairfield

Tuesday at Noon.

Tel: 827-3130

Suggested Donation: Seniors $4 and $6 for people under 60

Food Shelf Hours: Tuesday, 3 pm to 5 pm; Every other Friday 10 am to Noon

Contact Person: Nancy Shaw

HISTORICAL SOCIETY Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of the month at the Historical Society Building. 

President: Cheryll DeRue

Vice President: Eric Jessiman

PROPERTY TAXES Property taxes are due the first Monday in October every year. We do not accept credit or debit cards.

DOG LICENSES – Dogs must have valid licenses no later than April 1 each year.


Town Clerk’s Office: 827-4495

School: 827-6611

Library: 827-4414

Town Garage: 827-6133

Fire / Ambulance / Emergency: 911